The IC of New Zealand


Welcome to the International Lawn Tennis Club of New Zealand 

Our Honorary Secretary is Pam Sowter
Telephone: + 64 9 828 7322 and email:

The IC of New Zealand was formed in 1956 and has around 130 members.

Ron McKenzie and Jeffrey Robson inspired the formation of our Club after they had been made Honorary Overseas Members by the IC of Great Britain.

Jeff has been our Patron since 1994 and still takes a very active part in our activities.

Some of the names of former or current International players who are members include:

John A Barry, Dr Peter Becroft, Jill Bignell, Beverley (Vercoe) Billington, Bruce Derlin, Marina Erakovic, Raewyn (Dickson) Ferkins, Patsy (Belton) Fleming, James Greenhalgh, Pat (Nettleton) Guiney, Peter Hampton, Brett Hibbert, Alistair Hunt, Grantley Judge, Betty (Bryant) Kay, Robin Legge-Hunt, G.D. Jones, Dan King-Turner, David Lewis, Mark Lewis, Andrew Lobb, John Lockington, Greg Long, Justin MacKenzie, Cecilie (Fleming) McIntyre, Ethne (Green) Mitchell, Ruia Morrison-Davy, David Mustard, Mark Neilson, Linda (Stewart) Nightingale, Elizabeth (Terry) Odgers, Onny Parun, Tony Parun, Danny Parun, Brenda Perry, Marilyn Pryde-Lawrence, Heather (Redwood) Robson MNZM, Jeffrey Robson MBE, Joyce (Fitch) Rymer (Aus), Ruth Seeman, Philip Seemann, Des Shaw, James Shortall, Jeffrey Simpson, Gary Slater, John Souter, Elaine (Becroft) Stephan, Brett Steven, Paul Thomson, Athol Tills, Judy (Burke) Tinnock, Claudine Toleafoa, Troy Turnbull, Andrew Turner, Dan Willman, Kevin Woolcott, Brian Woolf,

Overseas based Howard Broun, Robert Clarke, Ian Crookenden, James Dunphy, Malcolm Elley, Claude England, Kelly Evernden, Pauline (Elliott) Hanson, Lew Gerrard, Jeremy Grubi, Steve Guy, Chris Lewis, Mark Long, Julie (Richardson) McDaniel, John McDonald, Peter Nicholls, Mark Otway, Russell Simpson, Paul Smith, Steven Temple.

Touring Players  We also have a group of younger players who are actively playing on various circuits

The IC of New Zealand is active in organising a number of events and matches for both junior and senior members.

The NZ Funds Trans-Tasman Trophy event for junior players (16 & under) was competed for annually with Australia, on a home and away basis. This led to the wider zone eliminations.

In 2008 the World Final of the first Compass IC Junior Challenge event was held very successfully in Auckland. This has now grown each year with the elimination matches being played

every second year, with the final the following one. The 2014 Finals will be played at Wimbledon starting on July 27th.

Morning Tea functions at the ATP & WTA tournaments in Auckland each January, for members and overseas players.