Archived News

IC of Spain win the IV IC Viva Mallorca Tennis Golf Challenge
SuperUser Account
/ Categories: IC Council News

IC of Spain win the IV IC Viva Mallorca Tennis Golf Challenge

The IC of Spain welcomed the IC of Denmark and IC of Great Britain to Cala Mesquida, Mallorca, from October 20th-23rd for a special tennis and golf tournament. Unfortunately, the IC of Italy were unable to attend and therefore it was down to the three remaining ICs to battle it out across the four days. The competition combining both tennis and golf was held at some of the best sports facilities in Europe, with the collaboration and support from Viva and Vanity Hotels, and sponsorship from Rosbacher. 

The tennis and golf IC Competition was first introduced by the President of the IC of Spain, Juan Tintoré, who instigated and staged the first edition in Barcelona in 1989. Under a format developed by David Waite, each tie includes three points for tennis, two for golf, and two combining both the tennis and the golf. This year, the golf was hosted at; Golf Son Servera, Golf Capdepera and Golf Pula and the Tennis at Son Besso. 

Day 1: 
On the first day of the competition, although losing two points from the golf competition, the IC of GB bounced back to defeat the Danish team 5-2.

Day 2:
On day 2, the IC of GB and hosts IC of Spain, had a hugely competitive match, ending up with a 3-3 draw. At the golf match, Simon Curtis (GB) and Dirk Hinkel (Spain) finished all square to start off the day. The singles match between Seb Jackson (GB) and Santi Tintoré (Spain) was an outstanding level, but it was the Spaniard who prevailed 6-3, 6-3. Seb Jackson then teamed up with Dan Lobb to defeat the IC of Spain in a nerve-racking match, which ended 6-3, 3-6, (15-13). In the combined tennis and golf, David Mills and Dave Culshaw (IC of GB) were victorious in both the golf and tennis matches, ensuring a 3-3 draw. 

Day 3:
Unfortunately, day 3 brought some unusually rainy weather, which meant that some matches were not able to finish. However, with what was played, the IC of Spain defeated the IC of Denmark 7-0, leaving the IC of Spain victorious overall. 

Socially, the official dinner and prize giving was held at the Viva Hotel, with the notable attendance of the President of the Balearic Tennis Federation, Antoni Ferragut. 


Seb Jackson, Santiago Tintore

Jes Bech Muller, Dan Lobb, Henrick Horst, Shamus Donald

Shamus Donald, Simon Curtis, Dirk Hinkel, Enrique Tintore

Berta Tintore, Vicente Requena, Antonia Amer

Seb Jackson, Sara Jane Curtis, David Mills, Dave Culshaw, Nicolas Alfin, Alina, Alejandro Copano, Santiago Tintore

Nicolas Alfin, Santiago Tintore Seb Jackson, Dan Lobb

Dave Culshaw, Sarah Jane Curtis, Berta Tintore, David Mills, Dan Lobb, Seb Jackson, Shamus Donald, Simon Curtis

The winning team of the Mallorca Tennis Golf Challenge

Previous Article Unfortunately, the IC of Pakistan withdraw from the 2016 Columbus Trophy held in New Delhi, India
Next Article Wimbledon ticket hospitality packages for 2017