Archived News

IC Israel Hosts Oxford University Tennis Team
SuperUser Account
/ Categories: World-wide IC News

IC Israel Hosts Oxford University Tennis Team

Every year the Oxford tennis team go on a 10 day tour and as part of this they try to play several matches against local clubs. This year, the team decided to come to Israel in Easter.

The IC of Israel arranged for friendly matches to be played at the Raanana tennis courts with the help of Oded Yaacov, Shai Puni and Miki Darmon (who studied at Oxford) and at the Accadia Tennis courts on the beach just north of Tel Aviv.

Ron and Eitana Steele (IC Israel committee members) hosted the team on a sunny spring day at the Ron Steele Tennis club just outside Tel Aviv. A total of 11 single 8 game matches were played with a tie break at 7 all followed by 6 doubles and mixed doubles matches.

Tea, Coffee, cakes and strawberries were available for the players and guests. At the end of the event a short ceremony was held where we presented an IC plaque to the captain of the Oxford team and a we gave a short presentation about the IC history and it’s aims.

The Oxford team consisted of:


1. Tim Matthewson
2. Greg Weir (Captain)
3. Dominic Kraetz
4. Fred Burgess
5. Aamir Aziz
6. Dan Rowlands

1. Anjoli Foster
2. Astrid Grindlay
3. Julia Lowis
4. Estelle Merle
5. Nathalie Larsen
6.Vicky Moffett

The IC Team of Israel consisted of:


1. Liron Strauss
2. Saar Steele (Captain)
3. Tal Meir
4. Dor Wertheimer
5. Aviram Salomon
6. Oded Teig


1. Dana Nusralla
2. Li Or
3. Tal Gornstein
4. Emely Gitman
5. Daniel Hava
6. Ditza Hadar

We would like to encourage more teams to come visit our beautiful and friendly country. We believe that the Oxford team had an interesting time with some good tennis during their stay in Israel.

Please feel free to contact any members of our committee should you be interested in tennis in Israel during a team or personal visit.

Mark Bergman
President IC Israel
Mobile: +972-54-749-4368
Fax: +972-151-54-749-4368

Previous Article Michiel Schapers is the new President of the Dutch IC
Next Article Potter Cup 2011