Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship Award

This award is made periodically to a player who has shown throughout his or her playing career the outstanding standard of sportsmanship commensurate with the objects of the International Clubs. 

The relevant objective of the ICs is to “develop, encourage and maintain the highest standards of sportsmanship and understanding among players of all nations and among young players in particular.”

2016 winner Rod Laver

2016 winner Rod Laver

Rod Laver felt like he was at home amongst friends and fellow players at the IC of Australia Annual Lunch, when Paul McNamee, the president of IC Australia, presented the only repeat winner of the Grand Slam with the IC Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship Award.

"It's a great honour to receive this award from the International Club" said Rod, "just listening to the introductions of those people here today, it is like a homecoming for me. I know so many of you."

The annual IC of Australia lunch attracted 170 guests including former players Margaret Court,  Neale Fraser and IC Council President and IC of Australia Patron Frank Sedgman along with officials including the President of the ITF David Haggerty, AELTC Chairman Philip Brook, USTA President Katrina Adams, Tennis Australia President Steve Healy as well as IC Australia members and IC of USA (including President Dan Waldman) and friends of tennis. 

Rod recalled meeting Jean Borotra in 1960. "He said 'Let's go play some'. And once he got me on the court he said we were going to play "angles". He said he would draw an imaginary line down the centre of the court and I had to hit the ball into one side at his end and he could hit into the whole court at my end. I thought 'This is going to be a fun hit' and we did that for three days!! He still hit his backhand with the thumb up the back. I've always cherished that memory," said Rod. 

Story and images of the presentation By Steve Myers , Secretary IC of Australia



Previous Article 2015 winner Steffi Graf
Next Article 2017 Winner Gabriela Sabatini

The Making of the IC Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship Award