IC Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship Award

This Award is made to an international player who has shown outstanding sportsmanship throughout his or her career or perhaps even on an individual occasion of remarkable significance.

The relevant objective of the IC is to "develop, encourage and maintain the highest standards of sportsmanship and understanding among players of all nations and among young players in particular."

2011 Gustavo Kuerten

2011 Gustavo Kuerten

This award is made periodically to a player who has shown throughout his or her playing career the outstanding standard of sportsmanship commensurate with the objects of the International Clubs. The relevant objective of the ICs is to “develop, encourage and maintain the highest standards of sportsmanship and understanding among players of all nations and among young players in particular”. Past winners are Stefan Edberg, Chris Evert, Todd Martin, Maria Bueno, Pat Rafter and Kim Clijsters. 

The selection process involves a panel of international tennis journalists who select a group of players who would meet these criteria. This list is then endorsed or added to by the 38 International Clubs around the world. Following this process an extremely impressive shortlist emerged this year. 
The tennis firmament is at present fortunate to have so many role models who would meet the criteria but there was one individual who not only during but also following his tennis career stood out and who caught the attention of the final selection panel. This person is Gustavo Kuerten from Brazil who has been declared the winner of the 2011 Award. 

His excellent playing record is without question, as he won three French Open titles (1997, 2000 and 2001). He occupied the world's no 1 ranking for 43 weeks. He also won 5 Masters series titles and has an 34-16 win/loss record in the Davis Cup. Just as importantly though was his popularity while on tour both with peer players and fans alike. His colourful personality brightened up the men’s tour during the 90s and early 2000s. 

Affectionately known as “Guga”, this friendly, laid back and humble person is still extremely popular in his home country of Brazil. Considered a gentleman on and off the court, his popularity resulted in him winning the ATP Player of the Year Award in 2000. In 2003 he received the ATP’s Humanitarian of the Year Prize and he is a recipient of Brazil’s Cross of Sports Merit. In 1999, 2000 and 2001 he was chosen as Sportsman of the Year in Brazil, quite an achievement in a country well known for its enthusiasm for football. In 2010 he was presented with the Philippe Chatrier Award of the ITF. In 2011 Gustavo received the Longines prize at a Charity Dinner in recognition for his ongoing work in favour of disadvantaged children especially in the favelas of Brazil through his charitable foundation, the Instituto Guga Kuerten. He has created programmes in Brazil that support and encourage kids through sport and education. The foundation also helps disabled and deprived people through projects in poor areas and is ongoing and growing. Some 32,000 people have benefitted from this charitable work. 

The IC Jean Borotra Sportsmanship Award will be presented to Gustavo Kuerten in October this year in his birthplace Florianapolis, Brazil. 

26 June 2011 

Previous Article 2010 Kim Clijsters
Next Article 2012 Mats Wilander

The Making of the IC Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship Award