IC Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship Award

This Award is made to an international player who has shown outstanding sportsmanship throughout his or her career or perhaps even on an individual occasion of remarkable significance.

The relevant objective of the IC is to "develop, encourage and maintain the highest standards of sportsmanship and understanding among players of all nations and among young players in particular."

1998 Stefan Edberg

1998 Stefan Edberg


When he first came here to Wimbledon as a shy 17 year old, he won our junior title en-route to a junior Grand Slam - the only young man to achieve that feat since the junior events became Championship events in 1975. 

We knew then that a great talent was emerging, and we did not have to wait long before it began to be fulfilled. It was in Melbourne in December 1985 that this athletic Swede won the first of his two Australian titles - the last to be played on the grass of Kooyong. 

There would follow two titles here at Wimbledon - both against Boris Becker in the three consecutive finals they played, and two at the US Open where Jim Courier and Pete Sampras were his opponents in 1991 and 1992. 

In between, in August 1990, he became the No I player in the world and proved himself to be the greatest modern exponent of the serve-and-volley art. 

During the course of a distinguished career he would accumulate 41 Singles titles from the 77 finals he contested and 18 Doubles titles from 29 finals. His 3 Grand Slam Doubles titles came ten years apart - two, at the Australian and US Opens, were with Anders Jarryd; the last (with Korda) was again in Melbourne in 1997 in his farewell year. 

In Davis Cup he was a member of Sweden's successful teams in 1984, 1985 and 1994 and he won bronze medals at the Olympic Games in Seoul in Singles and Doubles. 

Four years later in Barcelona he carried Sweden's flag in the opening ceremony - one of the proudest moments, he said, in his long and fruitful career. 

More importantly, wherever he has played he has been admired for his unfailing sportsmanship and sense of fair play. It was no surprise when his peers named the annual ATP Tour 

Sportsmanship award after him. Nor is it a surprise that Stefan Edberg, chosen by the 32 member nations , will be the first name to appear on this new trophy - the International Club's Jean Borotra Sportsmanship Award. 

It is with great pleasure that I call upon Stefan Edberg - great Champion, great gentleman and great sportsman to receive it. 

Next Article 2001 Chris Evert

The Making of the IC Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship Award